Rendering & Jeremiah Goodman

25 Apr

I’ve always loved interior design, even before I knew what it was. I had no idea that such a profession even existed, but I used to describe to my grandmother my plans for the redecoration of her house, and build homes for my Teddy Grahams to live in. I loved dollhouses, and one of my favorite games was to imagine my dream house in minute detail, room by room.

It’s really no surprise that I’ve ended up doing what I’m doing, but I got here in a pretty roundabout way. When I was living in New York a few years back, I still wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do but I was OBSESSED with interior design magazines and books. One day I discovered the wonderful renderings of Jeremiah Goodman. There was a show on–I never went, and I still regret that I missed out on a chance to see his work in person!

I was reminded of it the other day, as I flipped through a magazine. There was an article on his beautiful work.

I mentioned in my last post how much I appreciate beautifully done renderings. (I’m also a painter). I’m just in awe at how beautiful they can be. As much as I love computers, some hand work simply can’t be replaced. That’s why in my own practice I still like to use hand drawings. Sometimes I just use CAD to trace because a hand drawing has a certain charm, and personality, that computer drawings just..don’t.

Here is an elevation I did for the project I mentioned a while back–it’s almost done and pictures will be posted asap, I promise!

It’s one of my first tries at rendering and I harbor NO delusions that it compares in any way to the work shown above–in fact, I can’t even believe I’m showing you my work on the same page as his; it’s laughable, but you have to start somewhere, right? I’m definitely going to take a rendering class, soon! Perhaps a watercolor class would be in order, as well!

So many things to learn…so many things to create!

Tell me, how do you all find the time to do all the creative things you want to do? Or are you like me, and the list is never-ending, and in fact keeps growing?

4 Responses to “Rendering & Jeremiah Goodman”

  1. Nevis April 25, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    I like your rendering!

  2. Melissa April 28, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    good morning liz!
    i love your rendering! it is so fun to meet someone who knows where her passion lies and has so many wonderful ways to explore and enjoy it!
    ๐Ÿ™‚ melissa

  3. Melissa April 29, 2008 at 4:45 am #

    hi liz!
    i blogged about your great blog today. ๐Ÿ™‚
    m

  4. valerie May 12, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    i think your painting is lovely! thank you for sharing jeremiah goodman’s work. i’ve never seen it before. that first painting is gorgeous…

Leave a Reply

