Sotheby’s Auction: Latin American Art

15 May

Every so often Sotheby’s sends me an online auction catalog. Fine wines, rare watches, and art are just a few of the things they might have on offer at any given time and it’s kind of fun to browse through the catalogs to see what is for sale.

May 29 and 30 they are having an auction on Latin American art. For just about $10,000 up to over $2,000,000, you can call an original your own.

The $2+ million price tag, by the way, is for a piece entitled “Watermelon Eater”.

Not one of my personal favorites, but according to the catalog, iconic, a part of our collective unconscious, even.

I have less expensive tastes, mostly under $100K. 😉 Here are a few that caught my eye:

Tehuanas, by Rosa Rolanda.

Via Sotheby’s.

Sant Genís d’Agudells, Barcelona, by Joaquín Torres-García

via Sotheby’s.

En pose para el fotógrafo, by Arturo Pacheco Altamirano

via Sotheby’s.

This one is my absolute favorite. Yes, it’s the colors…I also like the shapes, the dark outlines, and the flatness of the background.

Retrato de una mujer, by Diego Rivera

via Sotheby’s.

I like the colors in this piece too, but it’s also that Rivera captured something about the woman herself that I like. I wonder who she was.

What about you? Which will you be taking home?

3 Responses to “Sotheby’s Auction: Latin American Art”

  1. Melissa May 16, 2008 at 6:49 am #

    Hi Liz!
    I love the pieces you posted. Art is so amazing. Each one has a story.
    Thank you for the inspiring post!
    Melissa

  2. Nevis May 16, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    Loved the Altamirano piece.

  3. nina May 19, 2008 at 2:04 am #

    Liz, I completely agree with your choices! That Rivera painting is so beautiful, it has some beautiful melancholy over it both in colors and expression. I’d love to have something similar on my walls one day (though probably from a more affordable painter 😉 )

Leave a Reply

