Our New Home

10 Jun

We are finally in escrow!!!

I have to say I didn’t realize how difficult it is to buy a house right now…you’d think with this “buyer’s market” it wouldn’t be that big of a deal, after all, it’s not that there has been a shortage of houses we liked…but still it feels to me like luck and circumstance play more of a part than one might like.

It happened that way with this house. We were in the neighborhood to look at a different house down the street and I saw this one on the corner and pretty much started hyperventilating when I saw it was for sale.

A Spanish house, corner lot…Jon went and grabbed a flyer and said, “Only two bedrooms.”  We wanted three but I convinced him to at least look at it since we’d be coming back with the realtor to look at the other house.

And when we walked in:

Built-ins, fantastic light, hardwood floors…original features everywhere, untouched!

I walked into an extra room off the kitchen and realized actually, there are three “bedrooms”, the extra room just wasn’t listed because it has no closet! The more I saw, the more I fell in love…and amazingly, Jon liked it too. The bedrooms were on the small side but the living areas were big and open—there was an extra enclosed patio/family room, a big yard and a garage! He actually would consider it…

We put our offer in, a week went by and nothing. This is part of the problem when trying to buy a house here, in my experience. When we bought in England we heard back the same day. Here, people take their sweet time, if they even call you back at all. Luckily Jon is impatient and a doer, so he got our agent to arrange a conference call with the seller’s agent. As it happened, the agent just showed up at the house, we found out what it would take to get the job done and did it! That’s what I mean about the luck…the agent thought we were a different couple who had offered on the house. He didn’t even think ours was a serious offer.

And we heard back yesterday. There is a LOT of work to be done on this home but I can’t wait to share the process of transformation with you! I never in a million years thought my first house in San Diego would get to be this cute and it is going to be even better when it’s done and loved again!

The first things we are going to do: paint inside and redo the floors. Dark or light? I’m kind of feeling light floors lately…I would like to stay sympathetic to the style of the house, which you might call “Spanish Eclectic”, or “Spanish/Mediterranean”, without creating a period piece and at the same time creating a fun and liveable home with a mix of old and new things.

This is going to be so much fun!!

9 Responses to “Our New Home”

  1. Melissa June 11, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    OMG Liz!
    I am so excited for you! It is beautiful!
    I am jumping up and down in my chair for you Jon and Henri!
    WoW! I cannot wait to see what you create.
    When do you close?
    🙂 m & e

  2. Nevis June 11, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    OMG, liz, it’s gorgeous! Is that in San Diego? It has a very SoCal feel to it. LOVE IT!!!!! I love all the little details. I want a buy a house SOoooo badly. I’m so sick of living in a trailer.

  3. henri hopper June 11, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    I’m so excited too, guys! Yep it’s in SD near downtown. We will close escrow hopefully at the end of the month if we can get everything done in time, otherwise July 10.

  4. Jenny June 12, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    Wow thats fantastic! Lovely features.
    Good job you two. I can’t wait to see it, and then see what you do with it!

  5. Nevis June 16, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    Some great little neighborhoods there! I loved Hillcrest when I used to live in SD.

  6. Design for Mankind June 24, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    OMG IT’S BEAUTIFUL! CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂

  7. Moira June 26, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    Totally awesome! Congratulations!!! (I like the light floors idea too)

  8. bethany July 20, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    clearly it was meant to be yours. It is just breathtaking!

  9. kim July 24, 2008 at 10:53 am #

    That is so gorgeous!

    more photos 😉

Leave a Reply

