Time to Decorate…

24 Sep

We are all moved in…except for a few boxes here and there.  I find that unpacking all the little things and getting everything just so is the hardest part and takes me the longest.  It’s the perfectionist in me, I guess…does it look better here, or 2 inches to the left…??

So I won’t show you any pictures of the house just yet.  Instead I will tell you about the lovely time we had in Carlsbad and some of the ideas I have for the new place.

Our weekend away was so nice after a crazy weekend of moving.  The place we stayed, the Pelican Cove Inn, is definitely recommended.  It is in a great location just two blocks from the beach and a few blocks from downtown Carlsbad, and the owner, Nancy, is very hospitable and you can tell takes pride in making sure people enjoy their stay.  The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were awesome!

Here I am before one of our walks on the beach:

Not the greatest picture, but there I know a few friends are interested to see how things are progressing with my “baby bump”.

Carlsbad has a beautiful beach, nice restaurants and good shopping.  I definitely recommend visiting if you are in the area.  Not to mention it has the famous Flower Fields (I think these are from March to May) and Legoland (a place I’m sure I’ll be visiting in the not-too-far-future!)

On our way home we stopped in Solana Beach at the Cedros Design District to get some inspiration for our new place.

I’m not into a totally Southwestern/rustic-themed look, but both Jon and I really liked this sofa:

I think if you took it out of its cowboy surroundings, and mixed it up with some modern metal furniture, some wood, a fluffy flokati rug, etc. it could be really cool.  The leather on it was perfectly distressed and it really is a work of art–a $12,000 one.  Oh well, the little leather sofa we’re planning on picking up at IKEA will do just as well, I think.

At Solo, which is a shop I really love, I spotted this pouf which I think just might make the final cut:

I think this will look better with a plain leather sofa anyway!

Unfortunately, it seems quite a few stores are going out of business, and having clearance sales.  Which means good prices.  We need a new spot for our TV or maybe a room divider between the living and dining rooms, and found this sideboard, priced at 50% off:

We also stopped by the antique mall where I fell in love with this table:

I think it’s the colors and the pattern both!  So cute…

We left with plenty of things to consider…I will be working on a “plan” over the next few weeks and can’t wait to share with you what I come up with!  I guess moving into a new place is fun, after all!

One Response to “Time to Decorate…”

  1. Nevis September 25, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    Very cool peices. Can’t wait to see how you put it all together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

