Fallspiration

17 Oct

Well, I have to say that lately I just haven’t been feeling “it”.  Do you know what I mean?

I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of fall, only I live in a place that doesn’t really get many seasons.  I know, San Diego is a beautiful place and I’m about to complain (just a little, teeny bit) about it!  Don’t hate me. 🙂  It’s just that I really love the change in seasons and fall is my absolute favorite.  Here in this desert by the sea, we get hot winds called Santa Anas instead of cold crisp air, sunny days and changing leaves.  And I don’t know what has happened to my work ethic, if I ever had one, but it seems to have vanished completely.  Maybe it’s being pregnant, who knows.  I just love pulling the pregnancy card!

But I knew I needed to do something, fast, to get my inspiration flowing again.  So I decided to create some inspiration boards for fall.  This is what I’m into right now:

I just gathered it all up and put it in one place.  Yes!  This is what I want to see and feel around me for fall!

Black, white and gray, with touches of warm pink and yellow, travel to foreign cities (I’m into that year-round though I must say), the rich color and flavor of fall fruits and other dishes, and natural rough elements like wood juxtaposed with delicate items of porcelain and glass, in white of course.  And just a hint of gothiness.  Is that a word?  Well I think it fits.

I am in LOVE with this print by artist Laura Su.  I found it on etsy.  Her dream is to be an artist…well I say help a girl out!  Her work is amazing.

I couldn’t wait to get the print and it is so beautiful.  Great quality, and it just speaks to me.  I would like to get another one, but that’s my art budget for this month.  Since I left my job to stay at home and work full time on my own business, I have had to cut back.  Which is totally fine; I am more than happy with my decision and feel very grateful to be in the position to even be able to try to do this (and still have a little fun money at all), I’m just frustrated with myself because I keep telling myself I need to MAKE things and be PRODUCTIVE but I’m just not motivated to do so!  It’s a real issue for me right now.

Anyway, I then moved all my inspiring objects into my office/studio and put them up on the boards so I can see them every day.

I love it.  This was a great way to feel a little excited about the season, regardless of the weather or the fact that I am still wearing flip flops. I think I am going to do this exercise every season.  Why not?  I think everything needs a little freshening now and again.

And then I found these as well.

So, while this did help me a little, my question to you is, how do you keep yourself inspired?  Do you make inspiration boards or books too?  Feel free to share!  And if you are an artist, what are your best tips for staying productive?  I’m anxious to know how some of you do it…I really am trying to get over this block I’ve been having!

Oh and by the way, we are finally getting a little of that crispiness in the air!  Love it…

6 Responses to “Fallspiration”

  1. Melissa October 17, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    hi liz!
    i love your inspiration boards! they are wonderful!
    you have such amazing taste!

    i always remind myself that art is about energy. it is just not there all the time and i have learned that you cannot force it. 🙂 so when i do not “feel” like making art, i walk emmitt or clean or work on my website or blog. 🙂

    i just do something that makes me happy because that will lead me to making art again.

    do not be hard on yourself if you are not in the mood. you are doing just what you are supposed to be.

    xo
    melissa

  2. liz langley October 18, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    thanks melissa!

    i think you are so right about the energy. it turns out that i was getting a cold, i just didn’t realize it! so i’m sure that accounts for my lack of motivation. i will try to be more open to going with the flow, and doing something that makes me happy in the meantime!

  3. Nevis October 20, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    I know what you mean. I grew up in Penasquitos and so I’m very framiliar with Santa Anas and not having seasons.

  4. Christina October 22, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    Hi Liz!
    thanks for checking in with me. Soo excited to see your pregnancy is progressing well. Wish I could help out in the BOY dept. but I have two girls.
    Sorry to hear you have a cold.
    I love fall too. But for some reason I start to get sort of depressed when it comes. I think it is the lack of sunlight or something? Anyhoo…..I understand missing the fall weather. We lived in San Fran for years and now that I am in Oregon I realize what I was missing while in Cali. I love the four seasons!
    As for creative energy, I think I have finally decided that it is okay when it is not there and to focus on something else. Even if it means a good book. I know it will come back. I tend to be sort of erratic with my creating. So if the paper creations are not there, I will knit, or crochet. If none of those are there, I get on the computer and look around for lovely stuff to inpire me or watch a costume drama or read a good book.
    I bet once you are feeling better it will come back. If it hasnt already.
    Cheers!
    Christina

  5. beebeary October 23, 2008 at 8:18 am #

    Morning Sunshine! I havent visited your blog in a while. Im glad I did this morning because it put a big smile on my face. I love your blog because it totally inspires me. Im very jealous that you can stay home and do these fun boards! So, I have this weird issue with inspiration too. But my issue is a little different then yours. I have absolutley no problem finding inspiration when Im at work our out of the house. But then as soon as I get a day off and want to actually put use to my inspirations….they just seem to disappear!
    Im not quite sure what it is. Since I’m obsessed with Anthropolgy and its down the street from my house I will go there and feel like Im bursting with ideas and inspiration. I take pictures I think “ok, Im going to go home and try to make that.” And then I get home and I clean the house instead. If only I could bring all my crafty stuff to Anthropology and just make it there. I think I would get kicked out! I think its just the way certain environments FEEL… The sun is shining thorugh the windows, the air is slightly warm and smells like a hint a perfume, the music is easy, the lighting is just right, the colors are invigorating. I think maybe my next day off I am going to try to replicate the environment and then see if that helps! Im not pregnant…whats my excuse?!
    Love you.

  6. lizlangley October 23, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    It is nice to know I am not the only one who goes through this. I guess it is kind of normal!

    Christina, I think that is a great idea to just do something, if I don’t feel like doing one thing to try another till something works!

    Anna, you are funny…this happens to me too! Don’t worry, you don’t need an excuse. I want to see more posts about your house though! I’m sure it’s coming along great! Also, anytime you want to get together and make something, let me know! I am free on Tuesdays…:)

Leave a Reply

