I’m Back!

23 Oct

Well, I didn’t actually go anywhere, but I wasn’t feeling myself for a while there…I hope my last post wasn’t too down; I didn’t mean for it to be, but I was really struggling with getting anything done!  Turns out, Melissa was right on with her comment that I should just go with the flow.  Because as it happened, I was just coming down with a cold, only I didn’t realize it!  I have taken this week pretty easy and now I’m feeling so much better and like doing things again!  Hooray!

My husband is very sweet to me and brings me flowers regularly–so yesterday I did something I like to do with a big bouquet–I made several smaller ones.  I find you can make much more interesting combinations than you often get from a standard store or florist’s bouquet, plus now I have two little arrangements in my office, one in the dining room, the living room, and one in the bedroom!

I’m happy I did take the time to make my inspiration board last week, too.  I’ve been having so much fun looking at it.  I think I was partly suffering from inspiration overload, with all the great stuff out there on the internet…I admit, sometimes I spend too much time looking at at what everyone else is doing and not enough time focusing on my own ideas. I think the inspiration board helped with that by letting me focus on images that are inspiring ME right now and creating a cohesive theme.

Here’s another thing I did this past weekend and I’m already feeling the benefit: I cut down my blogroll massively!  I just deleted all the blogs that I read only sometimes, wasn’t really enjoying anymore, or couldn’t even remember what they were. I made one folder for the ones I like to read just once in a while so that I don’t feel obligated to read every single one all the time.  Really!  I do that…it’s part of my perfectionist nature–I feel I must read every post that I can see.  So silly!  I just kept the ones that I really love love love to read, or are inspiring, or are friends.  And doing that cut my list in half and already has made me feel better!  Not to mention I have spent much less time following links to random things and feeling crazy!

My new & improved blogroll, via Google Reader (recommended)

There is one blog I had to add to my blogroll recently, and definitely did not want to do without: kris’ color stripes.  She makes the most beautiful artwork and I love the way she breaks down her inspirations into stripey color schemes!  Isn’t it an ingenious idea, not to mention a useful exercise for an artist/lover of color?  She is also selling a beautiful calendar for next year.  I must admit, I am tempted!


I really don’t think it’s too early to start thinking about calendars for next year.  I have had mine picked out for weeks already…well, one of them anyway.  I usually end up with several.  I will share it with you in my next post!

4 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Melissa October 23, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    hi liz!
    i am so glad you are feeling better. i was fighting a cold last week too. 🙂

    i am going to follow your advice and reorganize my blog roll reading too. i laughed when i read your post because i feel the same way. i feel i need to read everything everyday. that can be fun, but when i am not clearing it through a few times a day, by the end of the night it says i have almost 100 posts to read and i feel overwhelmed.:)

    you are so smart!

    xo
    melissa

  2. Nevis October 24, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    Love the flowers. I admit, I wish I received more flowers! 🙂

    Have you ever been to the site

    http://howaboutorange.blogspot.com/

    Seems like a site you’d love!

  3. lizlangley October 24, 2008 at 11:45 am #

    yes, but not for a long time! just visited and she has so much cute stuff to look at! i love all the downloads too. 🙂

    maybe terry will read this…or just show him the post! 😉 seriously, i don’t know where jon learned that trick but it’s a good one. not that flowers are the most important thing or anything…a girl still likes to get them, right?

  4. lizlangley October 24, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    melissa, i’m glad you are feeling better too!

Leave a Reply

