Handmade Gifts

26 Jan

I know the gifting season is way over, but I saw this feature on a couple of other blogs and I thought it looked like fun and I wanted to do it, too.  I gave (and received) a lot of handmade gifts this year and I just wanted to share a couple of my favorites.  You might like them too, for yourself or someone else maybe?  After all, birthdays and other gift-giving occasions come up throughout the year, right?

Here is a gift I gave and received: (note to etsy, a to-buy list you could keep secret would be a good idea!)  Luckily I pretty much never give anything I don’t like too. 🙂

picture-14

An owl ornament needle-felting kit by fancy tiger.  Here is my finished owl:

owl1

My sister and I had a lot of fun making these together on Christmas Day.  It is so easy and fun and the kits contain everything you need!   My sister also gave me a kit to make a sparkling jellyfish ornament which I have yet to make but can’t wait to crack open.

This is another of my favorite things that I gave to my other sister:

picture-122

The Love Rat necklace by Gypsy Rabbit.  It is so cute and the packaging it came in was adorable.  You could tell this seller puts a lot of love and care into her work.  Personally,  I have been obsessed with the Love Whale Necklace for quite some time now, if I don’t receive it as a gift myself (yes, family members, it is never too early to start thinking about upcoming birthdays is it? ;))I guess I will just get it for myself!

picture-15

This is something I did receive and I LOVE:

picture-16An adorable address box by Assembly of Text.  Although it did make Jon laugh that I got so excited over something so…simple.  Yes, I have an address book on my computer, on my iphone, why do I need a box that looks like something he used in his first job?  But there is something so nice about actual business cards and I have stacks of those just waiting to be put in here.  I am not sure if they will all fit, but we shall see.

How about you?  Did you shop handmade this year too?

3 Responses to “Handmade Gifts”

  1. melissa January 26, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    hi liz!
    oh i love your owl and that you and your sister made them together.

    i did buy and give almost all handmade this year and it was so much fun!

    what a great post!
    xo
    m

  2. Nevis January 27, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    I did! I bought and recieved a ton of Etsy gifts…including one of your camera cases (as you know). I just love it!

  3. Nevis January 29, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Hey Liz…I gave you a shout out on my blog!

Leave a Reply

